What is the difference between Manual and Auto confirmation?

When receiving new bookings via your booking form, you have two options to confirm those.

Request

If your packages have the Initial Booking Status (IBS) set to request, your bookings will enter your Backoffice as booking requests, which you will then have to manually confirm before the booking confirmation is sent out and payments can be made by your guests. This is useful if you want to check capacity in your activity centers or with third parties, for example, before you can guarantee a spot.

Auto confirmation

On the other hand, if you work with Auto Confirmation for your products and packages, you have two options again. Either your bookings are automatically confirmed in your Backoffice and your booking confirmation will be sent to your client directly after the booking has been made, or the booking comes in with a pending status. In this case, the client will be redirected directly to the payment page, where a payment can be made (either deposit or full amount). If the payment is not done in the required time, then the booking will expire, hence giving other guests the possibility to make the booking.

Click here to read more about the booking statuses.

Important: For the bookings made via your website there's the default expiry time set to 30 min. You can change it under Settings > General > Pending Bookings.

If you're working with Bank Transfer as a payment option, we recommend increasing the time to at least 7 days (10080 minutes) as it might take some time before the transaction is visible on your bank account.

How to set a package to Manual Confirmation

Open an Inventory item (e.g. a package or activity). Go to the Frontoffice tab in your item settings and select the option REQUEST - Manual Confirmation.

Now, as stated before, your packages will have to be manually confirmed in your Backoffice. The client, after having made the booking, will be redirected to the Thank you page. 

Hint: you can design your custom thank you page under Sales > Booking Engine > Thank you page.

The booking will enter your Backoffice with its status set as ''Requested''.

  • You will then need to manually update its status to ''Confirmed'' or ''Pending''. Depending on the settings in your Backoffice, the customer can automatically receive a confirmation email with the Customer Portal URL included so that they can make a payment for their booking.

How to set a package to Auto Confirmation

Open the inventory item (e.g. a package or activity) that you want to set to auto-confirmation. Go to the Frontoffice tab in your item settings and select the option PENDING or CONFIRMED based on your business policy.

Now, no manual confirmation has to take place, and your clients are redirected to the payment page after having made a booking:

  1. Example of the setting: CONFIRMED - Automatic confirmation, no immediate payment required

Depending on their next actions and the amount they pay, your bookings will enter your system as ''Confirmed'' (when no payment is made), ''Deposit Paid'' or ''Paid''. 

2. Example of the setting: PENDING - Automatic confirmation but immediate

payment required

Depending on their next actions and the amount they pay, your bookings will enter your system as ''Pending'' (when no payment is made immediately), ''Deposit Paid'' or ''Paid''.

In case the transaction is not made until the requested date, the booking will disappear from your Backoffice making the room available for another booking.

Tip: You can set automated emails for all these scenarios, in order to better manage your received bookings. 


Did this answer your question?